STATE OF MAINE

VIOLATIONS BUREAU Citation No:

STATE OF MAINE MOTION TO REOPEN
M.R. Civ. P. 60(b), 80F

V.

Current Mailing Address: Telephone:

Year of Birth:

| request that the following violation(s) be reopened:

Date of Offense: Location of Offense:

Law Enforcement Agency that issued the citation (ticket):

| am requesting that the Court reopen my traffic infraction matter. The reason(s) | am
making this request are as follows:

| UNDERSTAND THAT THIS REQUEST WILL BE PRESENTED TO THE COURT FOR
REVIEW. | FURTHER UNDERSTAND THAT UNLESS THE COURT GRANTS MY

REQUEST, | AM REQUIRED TO MAKE FULL PAYMENT OF MY FINE (IF IT HAS NOT
YET BEEN PAID) ON THE DATE THAT IT IS DUE, UNLESS ORDERED OTHERWISE.

| understand the information on this form and the information provided on this
form is true to the best of my knowledge.

Date:

Defendant’s Signature
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State of Maine v.

ORDER ON MOTION TO REOPEN
DThe Motion to Reopen is DENIED. The fine previously assessed is due:
[ ]As originally ordered [ ] days after the date of this Order.
DThe Motion to Reopen is GRANTED and:
[ ]Case is Dismissed [ _]Case to be scheduled for trial (clerk to send notice).

Date

Judge, District Court
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MOTION TO REOPEN INSTRUCTIONS

A Motion to Reopen is a request made by a defendant who has had a judgment entered
against them on a traffic citation (ticket) and would like a judge to reopen the matter for
further review. This request is made using the Motion to Reopen (form number MJBVB-
18). There is a required $25 filing fee (per violation) to file the Motion to Reopen. If you
are unable to pay the filing fee you may request that a judge waive it using the
Application to Proceed Without Payment of Fees (form CV-67) and supporting Affidavit
(form CV-191). These forms may be found on the Maine Judicial Branch website
(www.courts.maine.gov) or may be picked up in person at any clerk’s office. Visit the
court website for locations of all state courts.

To file by mail, send the filing to the following address:
Violations Bureau
P.O. Box 480
Lewiston, ME 04243-0480
When filing a motion to reopen, be aware of the following:

» Either you or your attorney (if you have one) must sign the motion.

« The $25 filing fee (per violation) is non-refundable and cannot be applied to
fines.

+ If the violation(s) you would like to reopen relate to a failure to produce
evidence of insurance/registration/license and/or permit, you may submit valid
proof when filing the Motion to Reopen.

» Any outstanding fines remain due and any license/registration suspensions
ordered in this case remain in effect unless otherwise ordered.

When the Violations Bureau has received your Motion to Reopen it will be given to a
judge to review. If it is granted, the case will be set for trial OR it may be dismissed. If it
is denied, the judgment stands and the fine previously assessed remains due. A copy of
the judge’s decision will be sent to you at the address provided on your motion.

Include your name, citation number, and current address on all correspondence sent to
the Violations Bureau.

If you have questions, call the Violations Bureau at 207-783-5422 or visit the Maine
Judicial Branch website.
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