CONTAINS NONPUBLIC DIGITAL INFORMATION
MAINE JUDICIAL BRANCH

MINOR NAME CHANGE CASE FILE CHECKLIST
*As of September 1, 2019, the courts accept only 18-C forms (Rev. 9/19 or after)

Required at the time of filing:

[ ] FILING FEE $40.00; or
[ ] cv-067/191 Application to Proceed Without Payment of Fees and Financial Affidavit

|:| FM-002 Family and Probate Matter Summary Sheet

[ ] PB-004 Social Security Number Confidential Disclosure Form
[ ] PB-003 Jurisdictional Affidavit

|:| NC-001 Petition for Adoption and Change of Name

Required BEFORE final hearing:

|:| PB-008 Summons Adoption, Guardianship, and Name Change with Proof of Service (acknowledgement, green
mail card, or sheriff service) of applicable parties as follows:
[ ] Parent of the minor;
[ ] Guardian of the minor;
[ ] custodian of the minor;
|:| Guardian ad litem for the minor; and/or
[ ] The minor (if the minor is 14 years of age or older).

|:| Certified copy of birth certificate of minor

[ ] copy of divorce judgment, and any modifications, if any

|:| Court order pertaining to custody of the minor, and any modifications, if any
[ ] Death certificate of deceased custodian, if any

[ ] vS-14 Legal Name Change (LNC) Request to Amend a Vital Record with parts 1, 2, and 3 completed (parts 4 and 5
to be completed by clerk after final hearing).

Optional before final hearing:

[ ] NC-003 Waiver and Agreement to Change of Name (Minor) (may be filed by the other party or parties to indicate
consent to the minor’s name change)

PLEASE NOTE: If the court issues a minor name change order after the final hearing, the clerk will send the court
order and the completed VS-14 form to the petitioning party. The petitioning party must then mail the completed
VS-14 form with a $60 check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine to:

Department of Health and Human Services
Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention
220 Capitol Street
11 State House Station
Augusta, Maine 04333-0011

ADA Notice: The Maine Judicial Branch complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). If you need a reasonable
accommodation contact the Court Access Coordinator, accessibility@courts.maine.gov, or a court clerk.
Language Services: For language assistance and interpreters, contact a court clerk or interpreters@courts.maine.gov.
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