

Maine Department of Health and Human Services Office of Behavioral Health DEEP (Driver Education and Evaluation Program)

DEEP Education Programs

The Risk Reduction Program (20-hour) is for Adults, 21 years or older. The 16-hour Program is for individuals who are under 21 when they register for a program.

The Under-21 Program (16-hour) is for individuals who are under 21 when they register for a program.

Our education programs are offered in-person or virtually using the ZOOM platform. Requirements for attending a virtual program include but are not limited to:

- An active email address that the participant has access to. This information is required at time of registration.
- A computer, tablet or smart phone with video and audio capability. All participants are required to remain on camera and engaged for the duration of the program.
- To follow requirements and expectations of our virtual programs. Providing virtual programs includes increased additional questions to ensure we have the correct physical location for all participants engaging in the program. If this information is not provided, participants will be required to attend in-person.
- A private, confidential, and appropriate location to complete the program. Virtual programs allow participants to complete their requirements without attending an in-person meeting. <u>ALL REQUIREMENTS AND</u> <u>EXPECTATIONS</u> of in-person programs still apply.

DEEP phone representatives are available from 9am to 4pm, Mon, Tue, Thur, Fri; Wed 1-4. Our office is closed daily from 12-1 for lunch. www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/deep

Mailing address

DEEP 11 State House Station 41 Anthony Avenue Augusta, ME 04333-0011

Phone: 207-626-8600 TTY Users: Dial 711 (Maine Relay) Fax: 207-287-3903

E-mail address: deep.osa@maine.gov

In accordance with federal and state laws, the Maine Office of Behavioral Health does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, religion, color, national origin, creed, disability, or age in admission or access to treatment services or employment in its programs and activities. If you require special accommodations at a DEEP education program due to a disability, please notify us 15 working days prior to the class so that we may make arrangements for your needs. This publication may be made available in an alternate format upon request.

Revised November 2021

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT

DEEP

MAINE'S DRIVER EDUCATION AND EVALUATION PROGRAMS FOR OUI OFFENDERS

www.maine.gov/dhhs/samhs/osa/deep

(207)-626-8600

The Risk Reduction Program

Participants in the Risk Reduction Program will receive in-depth education regarding high-risk alcohol and drug choices to assist them in identifying and changing high-risk behaviors. Participants will complete a preliminary selfassessment instrument designed to screen for risk factors for substance use problems. Individuals found to be at higher risk will be referred to a DEEP certified provider for a clinical substance use evaluation to determine if there is evidence of a problem that needs treatment services.

Twenty Hour Risk Reduction Program

 \$300.00 Payment by Money Order \$10.00 processing fee for credit or debit card payment

Under 21 Risk Reduction Program

• \$225.00 Payment by Money Order \$10.00 processing fee for credit or debit card payment.

Counselors and agencies certified to provide services are private businesses, and individuals receiving those services must pay for them.

Contact the DEEP office at 207-626-8600 to register for a program, or if you have any questions about DEEP services.

THE COMPLETION OF TREATMENT PROGRAM

Any individual, either adult or under the age of 21, who feels that he or she has a serious alcohol or substance use problem that needs treatment and is willing to seek voluntary counseling, may opt to enter directly into treatment rather than take the Risk Reduction Program.

- services must be provided by a DEEP-certified counselor or agency.
- A statewide listing of approved providers is available by calling DEEP at 207-626-8600.
- The number of sessions will depend on the extent of your problem and your progress in treatment.

Processing of forms through the DEEP office is required prior to your first appointment with a DEEP Provider.

<u>Program fee of \$300.00</u> payment by Money Order. A \$10.00 processing fee for credit or debit card payment by phone.

Final approval of your completion will be based on the report sent to DEEP by your counselor.

To participate in the Completion of Treatment Program <u>you must call DEEP at</u> <u>207-626-8600</u> for further information and to request application materials.

Counselors and agencies certified to provide services are private businesses, and individuals receiving those services must pay for them. Several providers have a sliding fee scale, and many will accept insurance or MaineCare.

OUT OF STATE PROGRAMS

Individuals who reside in another state may complete the program available in their state for the equivalent number of offenses. The program must include an education component as well as a preliminary assessment and/or a substance use evaluation. If treatment is recommended or required, documentation of completion must be provided.

Program fee of \$300.00 payment by Money Order. A \$10.00 processing fee for credit or debit card payment by phone.

MILITARY PROGRAMS

Members of the military who have an Operating Under the Influence (OUI) offense in Maine may satisfy the requirements of DEEP by completing the program required by their branch of the service, for the total number of OUI offenses they have had, no matter where or when they occurred. The program must include an education component, as well as, a preliminary assessment and/or a substance use evaluation. If treatment is recommended or required documentation of satisfactory completion must be provided.

Program fee of \$150.00 payment by Money Order. A \$10.00 processing fee for credit or debit card payment by phone.

If you would like information regarding your driver's license, please contact:

Driver Licensing Division Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles 29 State House Station Augusta Maine 04333

Or call 207-624-9000 ext. 52104