State of Maine Judicial Branch – Violations Bureau PO Box 480, Lewiston, ME 04243-0480 Telephone: (207)783-5422 – TTY: Maine Relay 711 www.courts.maine.gov

INFORMATION ON TRAFFIC VIOLATION APPEALS

Please note: All appeals forms may be obtained in person at any court clerk's office or on the Maine Judicial Branch (MJB) website listed above. A list of all clerk's offices and their physical locations can also be found on the MJB website.

1. Notice of Appeal form. You must fill out a Notice of Appeal form (MJBVB-20) for each violation you are appealing.

2. Twenty-one-day deadline. You must file the completed Notice of Appeal form within <u>21</u> <u>calendar</u> days of the day of the decision in your case.

3. Where to File. The Notice of Appeal is filed at the Violations Bureau (address listed above) and <u>must</u> be received before the 21-day deadline. If it is received late, the appeal will be dismissed. Please keep this in mind when mailing.

4. Appeal fee. There is a \$175 filing fee for each violation that you are appealing. This fee is required at the same time the Notice of Appeal is filed. The appeal fee must be in the form of a check or money order made payable to: Treasurer State of Maine.

5. If you are unable to pay the fee. If you are unable to pay the appeal fee, you can request to have the appeal fee waived. To make this request you must fill out Application to Proceed Without Payment of Fees (CV-67), together with the financial Affidavit (CV-191).

6. Transcript. If your trial was recorded and you want a written transcript of that recording, you must also fill out a Transcript and Audio Order Form (CV-CR-JV-165). You must file the Transcript Order Form at the same time you file the Notice of Appeal. The clerk's office where your trial was held can tell you if your trial was recorded and give information regarding the recording that will be needed to complete the form (such as what courtroom it was in and what the start/finish times were.). Incomplete forms will be returned and must be completed to process. If you do not file a Transcript Order Form within 7 days of the date you file the Notice of Appeal, the appeal will proceed in the Law Court without the transcript.

If you are unable to pay for the cost of the transcript, you can request to have it made at the expense of the State on the Transcript Order Form. You must also fill out and submit a Motion for Transcript at State Expense (CV-CR-166) to complete the request.

For detailed information about transcripts, such as cost, payment options, and how long it will take to complete, please see the Transcript Order Form (CV-CR-JV-165).

7. Law Court. Your appeal will be sent to the Supreme Court, sitting as the Law Court, when the Notice of Appeal, fee(s), and all other necessary documents are received. The Law Court clerk will then notify you that your appeal has been docketed and what happens next.