## State of Maine Judicial Branch – Violations Bureau

PO Box 480, Lewiston, ME 04243-0480 Telephone: (207)783-5422 – TTY: Maine Relay 711 www.courts.maine.gov

## **INFORMATION ON TRAFFIC VIOLATION TRIALS**

▶ Please note: All forms referenced below can be obtained at any court clerk's office or on the Maine Judicial Branch (MJB) website listed above. A list of all clerk's offices and their locations can be found on the court website.

<u>Special Accommodations:</u> If you need special accommodations and have not yet notified the Court or the Violations Bureau, you must do so immediately using the Accommodation Request Form. This form can be found at any court clerk's office or online at the MJB website listed above.

Change of Address: It is your responsibility to notify the Violations Bureau of any change of address.

On Your Trial Day: Report to the court on the date/time listed on the Notice of Trial. Be aware that you will not be the only person scheduled for trial that day, which means that you may be at court for a few minutes or several hours. You will have the option to meet with the State's representative to discuss your case. If no agreement is reached after discussion, your trial will take place that day. At the trial the State must prove you committed the alleged violations. Be prepared and have documents and/or witnesses needed for your case. If a judge finds that you have committed the traffic infraction(s), a fine will be imposed and must be paid within 30 days of the trial date, unless ordered otherwise (see Payment). If it is found that you did not commit the violation(s), a judgment will be entered in your favor.

<u>Transcript</u>: If you want your trial to be recorded so that a transcript can be made, you must make this request with the clerk's office in the court where your trial will be held as soon as possible.

<u>Continuance:</u> If you wish to postpone your trial, you must file a Motion to Continue (MJBVB-10). This can be done online through Guide and File (www.courts.maine.gov/ecourts) OR it may be submitted in writing to the Violations Bureau at the address listed above. You must send a copy to the Office of the District Attorney who will be prosecuting your case. Visit the Traffic Infraction FAQs on the MJB website to find a list of Maine's District Attorney offices. After it is filed, the motion will be reviewed by a judge. If your request to continue is granted the case will be rescheduled. If it is denied you are expected to appear in court on the scheduled date. You will receive notification of the court's decision.

<u>Failure to Appear:</u> If you do not appear in court on the date and time scheduled for your trial, a default judgment will be entered against you and the fine amount imposed by the court will be due in 30 days.

<u>Payment:</u> Fines must be paid within 30 days of the trial date unless otherwise ordered by the Court. If payment is not received by the due date, your license/right to operate in the State of Maine will be suspended. Once suspended, you must pay the Violations Bureau the total fine due AND a late fee of \$50 per offense. You will also be required to pay the Bureau of Motor Vehicles a reinstatement fee for each offense that resulted in a suspension.

Payment to the Violations Bureau may be made in the following ways:

- 1. **By mail** via check or money order in US funds made payable to Treasurer, State of Maine. Include the citation (ticket) number on your check or money order and mail the payments to: Violations Bureau, PO Box 480, Lewiston, ME 04243-0480.
- 2. **In person** at any Maine state courthouse. Visit www.courts.maine.gov for a list of courts by location.
- 3. Online via credit card (MasterCard, Visa, or Discover). Go to www.courts.maine.gov/ecourts.
- 4. **By phone** via credit card (MasterCard, Visa, or Discover). Call toll free: 1-866-729-8499.

<u>Appeal:</u> You have the right to appeal a judge's decision. Please see Information on Traffic Violation Appeals (MJBVB-29) for further information.

Additional information about Traffic Violation cases can be found at www.courts.maine.gov.